Cooper, Zellers, Hunker win in Rehoboth

By Ryan Mavity | Aug 13, 2011
Capwe Gazette
(Photo by: Ryan Mavity) More than 1,100 people voted in this year's Rehoboth Beach election. Retaining their seats are Mayor Sam Cooper, left, and Commissioner Lorraine Zellers, center. Joining them on the city commission will be Mark Hunker, right.

Rehoboth Beach — Rehoboth Beach Mayor Sam Cooper was reelected for an eighth consecutive term, defeating challenger Tom McGlone.

Cooper retained his seat with 665 votes to McGlone's 483. Of the 1,519 registered voters, 1,154 of them voted in this election.

As was the case when she was elected three years ago, Commissioner Lorraine Zellers was the top vote-getter with 712 votes. Joining her on the commission will be Eden Restaurant co-owner Mark Hunker, who finished with 619 votes. Commissioner candidate Richard Kirchhoff finished with 540 votes.

Hunker will be taking the seat vacated by Commissioner Dennis Barbour, who withdrew his candidacy for another term. Cooper, Zellers and Hunker will be sworn in at the Friday, Sept. 16 commissioners' meeting.